[BUG] VS Code plugin: scrolling up deletes the current message and replaces it with the previous one

Status Open
Reported on v2.1.246
Maintainer reply None cached
Activity 3 comments · opened Aug 26, 2026

Preflight Checklist

  • [x] I have searched existing issues and this hasn't been reported yet
  • [x] This is a single bug report (please file separate reports for different bugs)
  • [x] I am using the latest version of Claude Code

What's Wrong?

Inside VS Code, in the Claude Code chat, when writing a long prompt, the start of the prompt goes out of the view, which is normal. To preview the message or to edit it before sending it, a natural thing to do is to press the up arrow button to get to the beginning of the prompt. Instead of getting to the top and stopping, the long message we spent a lot of time writing gets deleted and replaced with the message we sent earlier. This is a serious issue.

What Should Happen?

When the up arrow is pressed, the prompt should scroll to the top of the message and stop. Not get deleted and replaced with the message that was previously sent.

Error Messages/Logs

Steps to Reproduce

  1. Exchange a few messages with Claude.
  2. Write a long prompt.
  3. Press the up arrow to get to the beginning of the current message. Users would either keep it pressed until it stops, or press it many times. often more than it is enough.

Claude Model

None

Is this a regression?

No, this never worked

Last Working Version

_No response_

Claude Code Version

2.1.246 (Claude Code)

Platform

Anthropic API

Operating System

Windows

Terminal/Shell

VS Code integrated terminal

Additional Information

_No response_

View original on GitHub ↗

3 Comments

rhys-vdw · 15 days ago

This one is a killer, it's particularly bad:

Repro:

  1. Have at least one prompt in hisory.
  2. Write a prompt
  3. Move caret to top line and press up (see your wip prompt be replaced)
  4. Press a single key
  5. Now get your original prompt back—you can't!

My suggestion:

It's a useful feature, but should only replace the content when my text box is empty so I can't lose work.

Or, potentially a second modal should pop up in which I can navigate through history, and explicitly choose a message to copy into the text box.

Or both!

dominickp · 8 days ago

This is a very frustrating issue that causes you to lose your entire prompt

rhys-vdw · 5 days ago

Just to expand on this a bit more, if nothing else it's terrible UX. When you press up you go to the previous prompt, but if that's 20 lines then you need to press down 20 times to undo one extra up key. It really punishes you for normal text entry.