[BUG] Claude hallucinates previous tasks into the plan. (VS Code Extension)
Status Fixed / completed
Maintainer reply None cached
Activity 7 comments · opened Dec 11, 2025 · closed Jan 4, 2026
Preflight Checklist
- [x] I have searched existing issues and this hasn't been reported yet
- [x] This is a single bug report (please file separate reports for different bugs)
- [x] I am using the latest version of Claude Code
What's Wrong?
I'm using a plan folder in the claude folder.
Sometimes when I am in plan mode and he comes up with one it gets previously done tasks in the plan (not a todo), even when I already told him once, twice etc.
This isn't the first time it happens to me.
What Should Happen?
New plan can't have done tasks in it.
Error Messages/Logs
None.
Steps to Reproduce
Work with lots of plan.md's in the plan folder in claude folder.
Claude Model
Opus
Is this a regression?
Yes, this worked in a previous version
Last Working Version
_No response_
Claude Code Version
2.0.62
Platform
Anthropic API
Operating System
Windows
Terminal/Shell
Other
Additional Information
(VS Code Extension) but I reckon this might be CC too.
7 Comments
Found 2 possible duplicate issues:
This issue will be automatically closed as a duplicate in 3 days.
🤖 Generated with Claude Code
Getting same thing happen. Code that already been edited has been plan show up on the screen, asking me if I should accept edits, etc. But the coding was already done. It happens after one or two other questions are asked or gone through, then suddenly the already-executed plan shows up again. Opus 4.5, been happening over the last few days.
Yeah it's quite a bit annyoing, I'd even say critical, what if we let those parts of the plan slip past and it bugs the code? More work on our hands...
This is still happening, in simple plans Claude keeps shoving plan parts from previous plans or future/yet to do ones.
I reckon this is Critical to fix.
Claude model 4.5 Opus still has the weird habit of describing previous gone through issues in the proposed plan before the current actual task.
Or maybe not even claude it looks like the previous plans get dragged onto the current one, maybe some for of scripted behaviour.
This happens when we use the same plan markdown with previous plans as I discovered.
This issue has been automatically locked since it was closed and has not had any activity for 7 days. If you're experiencing a similar issue, please file a new issue and reference this one if it's relevant.