[BUG] When switching modes, it starts to plan even if you don't use Plan.
Preflight Checklist
- [x] I have searched existing issues and this hasn't been reported yet
- [x] This is a single bug report (please file separate reports for different bugs)
- [x] I am using the latest version of Claude Code
What's Wrong?
When I change modes to Bypass in VS Code, sometimes it'll say "I see you told me to think" but I was only on think for half a second. I feel like its a stressful game/race to ensure I get to the right button if I forget to give it permissions prior. Also, it's very hard to permanently set bypass permissions.
What Should Happen?
Maybe give it a second before enforcing the new mode. Give us a chance to select the mode we want to w/o sending additional instructions.
Error Messages/Logs
None
Steps to Reproduce
Type something at the default
Press enter
Get prompted to edit a file
Sigh becuase you forgot to change to bypass
Click at any speed to bypass
Sometimes claude says "User told me to plan" because Plan is right before bypass.
Claude Model
None
Is this a regression?
No, this never worked
Last Working Version
_No response_
Claude Code Version
2.0.46
Platform
Anthropic API
Operating System
Windows
Terminal/Shell
PowerShell
Additional Information
_No response_
8 Comments
Found 3 possible duplicate issues:
This issue will be automatically closed as a duplicate in 3 days.
🤖 Generated with Claude Code
this is none of those
This issue has been inactive for 30 days. If the issue is still occurring, please comment to let us know. Otherwise, this issue will be automatically closed in 30 days for housekeeping purposes.
comment
This issue has been automatically closed due to 60 days of inactivity. If you're still experiencing this issue, please open a new issue with updated information.
This issue was closed incorrectly despite recent human comments. This behavior of the bot is reported at https://github.com/anthropics/claude-code/issues/16497. Please upvote that issue, so maybe it gets noticed.
thanks, man
This issue has been automatically locked since it was closed and has not had any activity for 7 days. If you're experiencing a similar issue, please file a new issue and reference this one if it's relevant.