[BUG] Claude does delete conversation data after cleanupPeriodDays
Status Open
Reported on v2.1.274
Maintainer reply None cached
Activity 0 comments · opened Sep 17, 2026
Preflight Checklist
- [x] I have searched existing issues and this hasn't been reported yet
- [x] This is a single bug report (please file separate reports for different bugs)
- [x] I am using the latest version of Claude Code
What's Wrong?
I opened Claude code to resume a session that I worked on a few months back.
The session got deleted in that moment.
I did not know of the cleanup happening and the user is not told about it.
What Should Happen?
Claude should NEVER delete all data without my permission.
It's fine to trash tool calls, etc. - but the actual conversation that I have seen is valuable data.
That what I see in Claude Code is what I expect to keep as transcript. (which is a few KB at least)
This is also the difference to other proposals.
Error Messages/Logs
The valuable session was gone.
Steps to Reproduce
- Work on something
- Leave it for a month or longer
- Forget to put the setting
- Session is gone fully
Claude Model
None
Is this a regression?
Yes, this worked in a previous version
Last Working Version
0.1.0
Claude Code Version
2.1.274
Platform
Anthropic API
Operating System
Ubuntu/Debian Linux
Terminal/Shell
Terminal.app (macOS)
Additional Information
_No response_